About the Tumut Region

The Tumut Region

Tumut is the northern gateway to the Kosciusko National Park and the intersection of the Snowy Mountains Highway and Snowy Valleys Way, two of Australia’s great high country touring routes.

Looking for more information on the Tumut Region? Click here.

The townships of Tumut, Adelong and Batlow nestle in the northern foothills of the Snowy Mountains. The drive south from the Tumut township follows the foreshores of Blowering Dam, the natural course of the Tumut River, to the township of Talbingo overlooking Jounama Pondage. The ascent to Australia’s high country starts at Talbingo Mountain and the Kosciuszko National Park attractions include Yarrangobilly Caves, Mt Selwyn Snowfields and the historic Kiandra’s gold mining area.

The region enjoys four distinct seasons, each with its own charm — autumn brings a richness of colour to the parklands, river walks and rolling valleys, the Snowy Mountains frame the sunlit valleys during winter, the bright blossoms of orchards feature in springtime, and the spectacular lakes, rivers and streams provide serenity and coolness in the warmer summer months.

Tumut welcomes its visitors in any and every season.